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Who Can Apply (A or B)

B. ATTENTION HOMEOWNER /BUILDER – READ CAREFULLY - Owner/Builder for Residential Only

  Permit can be issued to owner/builder as per the following requirements:

- Picture ID (Driver License, ID card) matching the address where the work will be conducted.

- Proof of ownership (Recorded warranty deed, tax statement, settlement statement).

- Verification or confirmation of Homestead Exemption

If a contractor is hired, then the contractor must pull the permit

A. LICENSED CONTRACTORS:

Permit can be issued to Licensed Contractors properly registered in the Building Planning and Zoning - Building 

Division. Contractors shall provide all required applications properly signed and notarized. Licensed Contractor 

qualification to work in Broward County, Business Tax Receipt (former Occupational License) and updated 
insurances.

Attention Registered Contractor with County License:

Definition as per Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulations: Registered contractors are designated by 

an occupation code which begins with the letter "R". As per FLORIDA STATUTES 489.117 (a)(b)(c). Registration allows 

the registrant to engage in contracting ONLY in the counties, municipalities, or development districts where he or she 

has complied with all local licensing requirements and only for the type of work covered by the registration. Each 

registrant shall report to the board (DBPR – Construction Industry) each local Jurisdiction and each category of 

registration in which the registrant holds a certificate of competency or license, or where the registrant has been 

granted a certificate of competency or license by reciprocal agreement.

Attention Applicant: As per Florida Statutes 713.13, a Recorded Notice of Commencement is required when construction, renovation, alterations values 

exceed $2,500. Construction cost (Including labor & material) will be based on contract signed by both parties (owner & contractor) and/or as 

determined by the Building Official (FBC 109.3). 

Fees: 

Application processing fee: $81.00 per application
Permit fee: The permit fee is approximately 3% of the total job value (Materials and Labor)

Quick Service permitting is available every Tuesday from 7:00AM-11:00AM for Miramar Residents. Applications 
must be hard copy applications.
– If approved, the permit will be ready for pick up the following Monday 

– If rejected, the application will need to be resubmitted on Tuesday during Quick Service Permitting 7AM-11AM.
PER THE CHIEF BUILDING CODE COMPLIANCE OFFICER AND THE BUILDING OFFICIAL: VIOLATION FEES WILL NOT BE ASSESSED TO THOSE 

HOMEOWNERS WHO ARE IN COMPLIANCE WITHIN 30 DAYS OF CITATION DATE.

Required Documents

       Completed application based on the scope of work.

       Provide one (1) complete floor plan showing the layout of the soffit lights & circuit numbers, updated panel 

       schedule, riser diagram, wiring method, provide manufacture specifications, indicate how the soffit lights are 

       being controlled (remote, wall switch, timer, etc.)

       Affidavit of Awareness of Homeowner’s Association (Included in this package). 

       Owner –Builder Disclosure Statement (For Homeowner applicants only). Homeowner/Builder applicant shall 

       carefully read this Owner-Builder disclosure Statement to fully understand his/her  
       responsibilities.

NOTICE

SOFFIT LIGTHING 
PACKAGE



����������	
��
�����
����������������������������
���������
 ����!
���"�����
����������������������������
�#�
�$�

%&'()&*+,'-./0+-.12'&3+%-14*1.5+67&31/+)6641,)/1'.+

89:9;<=>?9=@ABC9D= EFG:CG?H= I:9;<AG;B:= J:FKLG?H= M9;NB?G;B:== = ><N9A=

OPP:G;B<GQ?=RFKL9AD= OPP:G;B<GQ?=SB<9D=

T+

UQL=OCCA9VVD= = W?G<D= XG<YD=

@BZ=[Q:GQ=RQ\D= = [:QQC=]?D= E[ID= [:QQA=OA9BD== UQL=̂B:F9D=

EFG:CG?H=WV9D== XQ?V<AF;<GQ?=@YP9D= >;;FPB?;Y=_AQFPD=

JA9V9?<=WV9D= = JAQPQV9C=WV9D=

S9V;AGP<GQ?=Q̀=aQAbD=

= R9c== OCCG<GQ?= d9PBGA= O:<9AB<GQ?= S9KQ:G<GQ?= d9eGVGQ?= ><N9AD=

f9HB:=S9V;AGP<GQ?D= O<<B;NK9?<=

g+

JAQP9A<Y=>c?9AD= JNQ?9D= IKBG:D=

>c?9AhV=OCCA9VVD= XG<YD= 8<B<9D= ]GPD=

i+

XQ?<AB;<G?H=XQ\D= JNQ?9D= IKBG:D=

XQKPB?Y=OCCA9VVD= XG<YD= = 8<B<9D= ]GPD=

jFB:G̀G9AhV=RBK9D= >c?9AkEFG:C9A= fG;9?V9=RFKL9AD=

l+

OA;NG<9;<mI?HG?99AhV=RBK9D= JNQ?9D= IKBG:D=

OA;NG<9;<mI?HG?99AhV=OCCA9VVD= XG<YD= 8<B<9D= ]GPD=

EQ?CG?H=XQKPB?YD=

EQ?CG?H=XQKPB?YhV=OCCA9VVD= XG<YD= 8<B<9D= ]GPD=

[99=8GKP:9=@G<:9NQ:C9AhV=RBK9=nopqrstuvqstwxqstuqryxuvz=

[99=8GKP:9=@G<:9NQ:C9AhV=RBK9=
nopqrstuvqstwxqstuqryxuvz= XG<YD= 8<B<9D= ]GPD=

MQA<HBH9=f9?C9AhV=RBK9D=

MQA<HBH9=f9?C9AhV={||}~��D= XG<YD= 8<B<9D= ]GPD=

�����������

d9eGV9C=��k��k����=

���

���

��� ���



����������	
��
�����
����������������������������
���������
 ����!
���"�����
����������������������������
�#�
�$�

%&'()*)+,)*)

-./01.234/56783569:/.;3-59<296=3>?.;9731>><94179/63
@
@

ABC@DEEFGHHI@ @ @ JKLMI@@ @ NLMOI@@

@
DPPQLRSMLBK@LH@TGFGCO@USEG@MB@BCMSLK@S@PGFULM@MB@EB@MTG@VBFW@SKE@LKHMSQQSMLBKH@SH@LKELRSMGEX@Y@RGFMLZO@MTSM@KB@VBFW@BF@LKHMSQQSMLBK@
TSH@RBUUGKRGE@PFLBF@MB@MTG@LHH[SKRG@BZ@S@PGFULM@SKE@MTSM@SQQ@VBFW@VLQQ@CG@PGFZBFUGE@MB@UGGM@MTG@HMSKESFEH@BZ@SQQ@QSVH@FG\[QSMLK\@
RBKHMF[RMLBK@LK@MTLH@][FLHELRMLBKX@Y@[KEGFHMSKE@MTSM@S@HGPSFSMG@PGFULM@U[HM@CG@HGR[FGE@ZBF@̂_̂ Ǹ aYND_@bcade@f_JghYije@
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Affidavit of Awareness 

of Homeowner’s 

Association Regulations 

The following “Affidavit” is required as per City’s ordinance. This is a mandatory affidavit which is required 

even if your property is not located in a Homeowner’s Association. 

ATTENTION APPLICANT. READ CAREFULLY 

• For homeowner/Builder applicants, this affidavit can be notarized by Permit Clerk at the Building 

Division. Homeowner should appear in person with required picture I.D. (i.e. Driver License) 

and proof of ownership (i.e. Recorded Warranty, County Tax Statement). The physical address on 

I.D. shall match the address on the proof of ownership (i.e. Recorded Warranty Deed). 

• For Licensed Contractor applicants, this affidavit can be notarized outside the Building Division by any 

Notary Public. 

Homeowner or Condominium Association Affidavit Requirement. Miramar - City Code Sec. 22-29.(c)(1) As 

part of the application process for a building permit in accordance with this chapter and with Section 713.20 

of the Land Development Code, each applicant shall sign an affidavit (the "affidavit of awareness") 

indicating that the applicant is aware that, if the subject property is located in a Homeowners' 

Association or Condominium Association, as defined in this section, the applicant's property may be 

subject to additional regulations despite the issuance of a building permit by the city. 

This serves to notify such homeowner that the issuance of a Building, Landscaping, or other permits by the 

City of Miramar, Florida does not exempt he/she from any and all other regulations imposed by the 

Homeowner’s Association (HOA) in which his/her property is located. Be aware that despite the issuance 

of a building permit by the city, the applicant’s property may result in additional regulations or denial 

to perform the work in your property located at HOA community. 

Read and Initial to the left of the applicable statement 

I acknowledge that I am the owner of property located in the following Homeowner’s Association: 

Print Name of Homeowner’s Association 

I acknowledge that my property is not located in a Homeowners’ Association. 

Name: 
Homeowner - Print Name 

Job Address: 

Miramar, Florida Zip Code : 

Signature: 

Homeowner - Signature 

STATE OF FLORIDA. Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of , 20 

Notary Public 

REV 1/2019 

Building, Planning & Zoning Department
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_______________________ 

Owner/Builder 
Disclosure 
Statement 

Owner Name: ____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Address: Miramar, FL, Zip Code: 

LOT: BLOCK: SUBDIVISION: ___________________________________________ 

I am submitting an application for a Building Permit as an Owner-Builder in accordance with the exemption set forth in 

Florida Statute 489.103. Florida law requires construction to be done by a licensed contractor. It’s a requirement by law 

you read and sign the following statements, and hence you can understand your responsibilities as an owner-builder. By 

signing the following statements, you attest that: 

DISCLOSURE STATEMENT 

(Read and Initial to the left of each statement) 

⎯ 

⎯ 

⎯ 

⎯ 

⎯ 

⎯ 

⎯ 

⎯ 

⎯ 

DISCLOSURE STATEMENT CONTINUE ON NEXT PAGE 

1. I understand that state law requires construction to be done by a licensed contractor and have applied for an 

owner-builder permit under an exemption from the law. The exemption specifies that I, as the owner of the 

property listed, may act as my own contractor with certain restrictions even though I do not have a license. 

2. I understand that building permits are not required to be signed by a property owner unless he or she is 

responsible for the construction and is not hiring a licensed contractor to assume responsibility. 

3. I understand that, as an owner-builder, I am the responsible party of record on a permit. I understand that I may 

protect myself from potential financial risk by hiring a licensed contractor and having the permit filed in his or her 

name instead of my own name. I also understand that a contractor is required by law to be licensed in Florida and to 

list his or her license numbers on permits and contracts. 

4. I understand that I may build or improve a one-family or two-family residence or a farm outbuilding. I may also 

build or improve a commercial building if the costs do not exceed $75,000. The building or residence must be for my 

own use or occupancy. It may not be built or substantially improved for sale or lease. If a building or residence that I 

have built or substantially improved myself is sold or leased within 1 year after the construction is complete, the law 

will presume that I built or substantially improved it for sale or lease, which violates the exemption. 

5. I understand that, as the owner-builder, I must provide direct, onsite supervision of the construction. 

6. I understand that I may not hire an unlicensed person to act as my contractor or to supervise persons working 

on my building or residence. It is my responsibility to ensure that the persons whom I employ have the licenses 

required by law and by county or municipal ordinance. 

7. I understand that it is a frequent practice of unlicensed persons to have the property owner obtain an owner-

builder permit that erroneously implies that the property owner is providing his or her own labor and materials. I, as 

an owner-builder, may be held liable and subjected to serious financial risk for any injuries sustained by an 

unlicensed person or his or her employees while working on my property. My homeowner’s insurance may not 

provide coverage for those injuries. I am willfully acting as an owner-builder and am aware of the limits of my 

insurance coverage for injuries to workers on my property. 

8. I understand that I may not delegate the responsibility for supervising work to a licensed contractor who is not 

licensed to perform the work being done. Any person working on my building who is not licensed must work under 

my direct supervision and must be employed by me, which means that I must comply with laws requiring the 

withholding of federal income tax and social security contributions under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act 

(FICA) and must provide workers’ compensation for the employee. I understand that my failure to follow these laws 

may subject me to serious financial risk. 

9. I agree that, as the party legally and financially responsible for this proposed construction activity, I will abide by 

all applicable laws and requirements that govern owner-builders as well as employers. I also understand that the 

construction must comply with all applicable laws, ordinances, building codes, and zoning regulations. 

Building, Planning & Zoning Department
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Owner/Builder 
Disclosure 
Statement 

(Continuation) 

⎯ 

⎯ 

⎯ 

10. I understand that I may obtain more information regarding my obligations as an employer from the Internal 

Revenue Service, the United States Small Business Administration, the Florida Department of Financial Services, and 

the Florida Department of Revenue. I also understand that I may contact the Florida Construction Industry Licensing 

Board at (telephone number) or (Internet website address) for more information about licensed contractors. 

11. I am aware of, and consent to, an owner-builder building permit applied for in my name and understand that I 

am the party legally and financially responsible for the proposed construction activity at the address listed above. 

12. I agree to notify (issuer of disclosure statements) immediately of any additions, deletions, or changes to any 

of the information that I have provided on this disclosure. 

Licensed contractors are regulated by laws designed to protect the public. If you contract with a person who does not 

have a license, the Construction Industry Licensing Board and Department of Business and Professional Regulation may 

be unable to assist you with any financial loss that you sustain as a result of a complaint. Your only remedy against an 

unlicensed contractor may be in civil court. It is also important for you to understand that, if an unlicensed contractor or 

employee of an individual or firm is injured while working on your property, you may be held liable for damages. If you 

obtain an owner-builder permit and wish to hire a licensed contractor, you will be responsible for verifying whether the 

contractor is properly licensed and the status of the contractor’s workers’ compensation coverage. 

Before a building permit can be issued, this disclosure statement must be completed and signed by the property owner 

and returned to the local permitting agency responsible for issuing the permit. A copy of the property owner’s driver 

license, the notarized signature of the property owner, or other type of verification acceptable to the local permitting 

agency is required when the permit is issued. 

I have read the foregoing instructions and I am aware of my responsibilities. 

Owner Signature Date Signed 

STATE OF FLORIDA, COUNTY OF BROWARD. Sworn to and subscribed before me this _day of _, 20 . 

Notary Public 

F.S 489.103. 3(c). If any person violates the requirements of this subsection, the local 

permitting agency shall withhold final approval, revoke the permit, or pursue any action 

or remedy for unlicensed activity against the owner and any person performing work 

that requires licensure under the permit issued. 

Building, Planning & Zoning Department
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PLEASE READ CAREFULLY 

Section 18-7 of the Code of Ordinances of the City of Miramar (“City Code”) requires any debris from demolition 
work, renovations, re-roofs, and new construction to be removed by the City’s trash vendor, Waste Pro of Florida 
(“Waste Pro”). Failure to adhere to this requirement shall be deemed a violation of the City Code Section 18-7 
and shall be subject to code compliance activities that may result in fines/penalties, as provided in the City Code. 
For roll-off collection services, homeowners/builders and licensed contractors shall contact Waste Pro at the 
information below. 

 
Waste Pro: 17302 Pines Blvd, Pembroke Pines, FL 33029 
Phone: (954) 967-4200 
Fax: (954) 241-4489 
Website: www.wasteprousa.com 

 
 

 
Read and initial to the left of the applicable statement. 

 
 
 

Initials 
I acknowledge that I must contact Waste Pro for the removal of all construction and 
demolition debris. 

 
Name: 

 

Job Address:  
City  , State   Zip Code  

 
 
Signature: 

 
STATE OF FLORIDA. Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of 

 
 

 
Notary Public 

   

   

, 20   

   

   

   

Construction Debris 
Removal Affidavit 

http://www.miramarfl.gov/
http://www.wasteprousa.com/
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__________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

________________________________________________ ____________________________________________________              

AFTER RECORDING � RETURN TO: 

PERMIT NUMBER: 

NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT 

The undersigned hereby given notice that improvement will be made to certain real property, and in accordance with Chapter 713, 
Florida Statues the following information is provided in the Notice of Commencement. 

1. DESCRIPTION OF PROPERTY (Legal description & street address, if available) TAX FOLIO NO.: _______________________________ 

SUBDIVISION _______________________________BLOCK_________TRACT_________LOT________BLDG_______UNIT _______ 

2.  GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF IMPROVEMENT: 

3. OWNER INFORMATION: a.  Name ________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

b.  Address________________________________________________________________________________  c. Interest in property _________________________ 

d. Name and address of fee simple titleholder (if other than Owner) ______________________________________________________________________________ 
4. CONTRACTOR�S NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER: 

5. SURETY�S NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER AND BOND AMOUNT: 

6. LENDER�S NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER: 

7. Persons within the State of Florida designated by Owner upon whom notices or other documents may be served as provided by 
Section 713.13 (1) (a) 7., Florida Statutes:
 NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER: 

8.  In addition to himself or herself, Owner designates the following to receive a copy of the Lienor�s Notice as provided in Section 
713.13 (1) (b), Florida Statutes: 
NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER: 

9. Expiration date of notice of commencement (the expiration date is 1 year from the date of recording unless a different date is 
specified):________________ ______, 20 ____ 

WARNING TO OWNER: ANY PAYMENTS MADE BY THE OWNER AFTER THE EXPIRATION OF THE NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT 
ARE CONSIDERED IMPROPER PAYMENTS UNDER CHAPTER 713, PART I, SECTION 713.13, FLORIDA STATUTES, AND CAN 
RESULT IN YOUR PAYING TWICE FOR IMPROVEMENTS TO YOUR PROPERTY.  A NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT MUST BE 
RECORDED AND POSTED ON THE JOB SITE BEFORE THE FIRST INSPECTION. IF YOU INTEND TO OBTAIN FINANCING, CONSULT 
WITH YOUR LENDER OR AN ATTORNEY BEFORE COMMENCING WORK OR RECORDING YOUR NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT. 

Signature of Owner or 
Owner�s Authorized Officer/Director/Partner/Manager 

Print Name and Provide Signatory�s Title/Office 

State of Florida 

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this __________ day of _______________, 20_ _______ 

By ___________________________________________________, as ________________________________________________ 
 (name of person) (type of authority,�e.g. officer, trustee, attorney in fact) 

For __________________________________________________.
 (name of party on behalf of whom instrument was executed) 

_____ Personally known or _____ produced the following type of identification: __________________________________________ 

Notary ___________________________________________ 
  (Signature of Notary Public) 

Under Penalties of perjury, I declare that I have read the foregoing and that the facts in it are true to the best of my knowledge and 
belief (Section 92.525, Florida Statutes). 

Signature(s) of Owner(s) or Owner(s)� Authorized Officer/ Director / Partner/Manager who signed above: 

By __________________________________________________     By _______________________________________________ 

Rev .08-09-07 (S.Recording) 


