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The intent of the application for change of contractor is replaced the previous contractor on record
and transfer the responsibility of the work to a new contractor, under Florida Building Code 105.6.4

Who Can Apply (A or B)

A. Licensed Contractors for Residential & Commercial: Permit can be issued to Licensed Contractors properly
registered in the Community Development - Building Division. Contractors shall provide all required applications
properly signed and notarized. Also, Contract signed by both parties (Contractor & Homeowner) shall be provided
indicating contract value per every applicable discipline.

B. Owner/Builder - For Residential Only. Permit can be issued to owner/builder as per the following
requirements:
— Picture ID (Driver License, ID card) matching the address where the work will be conducted.
— Proof of ownership (Recorded warranty deed, tax statement, settlement statement).
- Verification or confirmation of Homestead Exemption
EXCEPTION:

 For Air Conditioning (HVAC), a Mechanical Licensed Contractor must apply for permit.
- If a contractor is hired, then the contractor must pull the permit.

Required Documents

I All required applications based on the scope of work (Structural, Plumbing, Electrical, Mechanical-A/C, Roofing, etc.). For
owner-builder, carefully read the note B shown above. Based on the scope of work, you may need to make additional copies
of the Broward Standard Application Form.

0 Hold Harmless Letter.

O

Letter of Responsibility.

[J Permit Valuation documents. Building Permit Valuations. FBC 109- 109.3.1 The Building Official may require an estimate of the
cost utilizing RSMeans and/or other descriptive data as a basis for determining the permit fee. The applicant for a permit shall
provide an estimated permit value at a time of application. Permit valuations, shall include total value of work, including
materials and labor.

Affidavit of Awareness of Homeowner’s Association (Included in this package).

Construction Debris Removal Affidavit. (Included in this package)

Owner —Builder Disclosure Statement, proof of ownership and picture ID matching job address (For Owner builder only).

For Signed & Sealed plans previously used for the original contractor, an authorization letter from the Designer of Record
(Architect/Professional Engineer) must be submitted along with other required documents. Because of the Copyright Laws,
this letter shall state the permission to new contractor to work using the designed plans by the Professional of Record.

Proof to the Building Official that the contractor on record for the subject permit has been notified about the intent of change of
contractor. This notification can be one the following:

oo o o

O

- Certified Mail Letter and corresponding receipt mailed to previous contractor on record.

- Notarized letter from previous contractor on record attesting he/she is aware of the change of contractor.

Attention Applicant: As per Florida Statutes 713.13, a  Recorded Notice of Commencement is required when construction,
renovation, alterations values exceed $5,000. This subsection does not apply to a direct contract to repair or replace an existing
heating or air-conditioning system in an amount less than $15,000. Recorded Notice of Commencement should be available at the
first inspection.



BROWARD COUNTY UNIFORM BUILDING PERMIT APPLICATION Revised 11-17-2022

Select One Trade: |:| Building

Application Number:

I:l Electrical I:l Plumbing

|:| Mechanical |:| Other

Application Date:

Job Address:

Tax Folio No.:

Building Use:

Unit: City:
Flood Zn: BFE: Floor Area: Job Value:
Construction Type: Occupancy Group:

Present Use:

Proposed Use:

Description of Work:

[[INew [ ]Addition

|:| Repair |:| Alteration |:| Demolition |:| Revision |:| Other:

Legal Description: |:| Attachment
Property Owner: Phone: Email:
Owner’s Address: City: State: Zip:
Phone: Email:
City: State: Zip:
|:| Owner-Builder License Number:
Architect/Engineer’'s Name: Phone: Email:
Architect/Engineer’s Address: City: State: Zip:
Bonding Company:
Bonding Company’s Address: City: State: Zip:
Fee Simple Titleholder's Name (If other than the owner)
Fee Simple Titleholder's Name
(If other than the owner) City: State: Zip:
Mortgage Lender's Name:
Mortgage Lender’s Address: City: State: Zip:

Contracting Co.:
3 Company Address:
Qualifier's Name:
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BROWARD COUNTY UNIFORM BUILDING PERMIT APPLICATION

Job Address: Unit: City:

Application is hereby made to obtain a permit to do the work and installations as indicated. | certify that no work or installation
has commenced prior to the issuance of a permit and that all work will be performed to meet the standards of all laws regulating
construction in this jurisdiction. | understand that a separate permit must be secured for ELECTRICAL WORK, PLUMBING,
SIGNS, WELLS, POOLS, FURNACES, BOILERS, HEATERS, TANKS, and AIR CONDITIONERS, etc.

OWNER’S AFFIDAVIT: | certify that all the foregoing information is accurate and that all work will be done in compliance with
all applicable laws regulating construction and zoning.

WARNING TO OWNER: YOUR FAILURE TO RECORD A NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT MAY RESULT IN YOUR
PAYING TWICE FOR IMPROVEMENTS TO YOUR PROPERTY. A NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT MUST BE
RECORDED AND POSTED ON THE JOB SITE BEFORE THE FIRST INSPECTION. IF YOU INTEND TO OBTAIN
FINANCING, CONSULT WITH YOUR LENDER OR AN ATTORNEY BEFORE COMMENCING WORK OR
RECORDING YOUR NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT.

Signature of Property Owner or Agent (Including Contractor)

STATE OF FLORIDA

COUNTY OF

Sworn to (or affirmed) and subscribed before me by means of

____physical presence or ___online notarization, this day of
, 20 by

(Type/Print Property Owner or Agent Name)

Signature of Qualifier

STATE OF FLORIDA

COUNTY OF

Sworn to (or affirmed) and subscribed before me by means of

____physical presence or ___online notarization, this day of
, 20 by

(Type/Print Qualifier or Agent Name)

NOTARY’S SIGNATURE as to Owner or Agent’s Signature

Notary Name

(Print, Type or Stamp Notary’s Name)

Personally Known Produced Identification

Type of Identification Produced

NOTARY’S SIGNATURE as to Qualifier or Agent’s Signature

Notary Name

(Print, Type or Stamp Notary’s Name)

Personally Known Produced Identification

Type of Identification Produced

APPROVED BY: Permit Officer Issue Date: Code in Effect:

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY FOR OFFICE USE ONLY FOR OFFICE USE ONLY

A jurisdiction may use a supplemental page requesting additional information and citing other conditions, please
inquire.

Note: If any development work as described in FS 380.04 Sec. 2 a-g is to be performed, a development permit must be obtained
prior to the issuance of a building permit.
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S City of Miramar | Building Division
n Building, Planning & Zoning Department HoIdLHarmIess
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This Hold Harmless Letter is required when the owner request to change the previous contractor on record and transfer
the responsibility of the work on his/her property to another contractor. Based on the Florida Building Code, see below
the regulations:
1. Where a prime contractor is the permit holder the owner shall file such hold-harmless letter.
2. Where a sub-contractor or specialty contractor is the permit holder the owner and prime contractor shall both
file such hold-harmless letters.

FBC 105.6.4 Upon request of the owner and/or permit holder and on investigation by the Building Official to
determine that the work has been abandoned or that the contractor is unable or unwilling to complete the contract a
second permit may be issued where there is a change of contractor without the initial permit being revoked or
suspended.

FBC 105.6.4.1 The foregoing will be permitted only when the following stated persons have filed with the Building Official a
letter stating the reason for a second permit being required and holding the Building Official harmless from legal
involvement. All interested parties shall be notified before action is taken.

To: Community & Economic Development Dept. | Building Division | City of Miramar
Attn. Building Official
Date:

I no longer authorize the previous permit holder
to proceed with the work covered under the Permit No.
| hereby authorize the following contractor to complete the work under this permit.

Contractor Company:

Qualifier Name: License No.:
Property Address: Miramar, FL. Zip
Folio #:

This request for change contractor is for the following reason:

| agree to hold the Building Official and the City of Miramar harmless and relieve them from any responsibility
and/or liability for any legal action or damage resulting from the change of contractor and the cancellation of
the existing permit.

Printed Name (Owner) Signature (Owner)
Company Name/Prime Contractor Signature (Qualifier/Prime Contractor)
State of Florida, Sworn and subscribe before me this day of 20
ID produced [ Personally Know [

Notary Public - State of Florida



3 City of Miramar | Building Division

2K o ) . Contractor
Y v Building, Planning & Zoning Department
X 2200 Civic Center Place | Miramar, Florida 33025 Letter of
Tel: 954.602.3200 | Fax: 954.602.3635 Responsibility
s www.miramarfl.gov
Attn.: Building Official. Building Division. City of Miramar
Subject: Letter of Responsibility for work completed by previous contractors.
Permit #
Project Name :
(Project Name)
This serves to inform you that has taken
OO0 Homeowner/Builder O Company Name

over the project located at , and accepting full

(Address)
responsibility for all the work completed by previous contractors. We agree to hold the Building the Official and
the City of Miramar harmless and relieve them from any responsibility or liability for any legal action or damage
resulting from the errors, omissions, any cost (Including legal fees), or construction irregularities resulting from
work performed by previous contractors.

I have submitted all licensing information, application form(s), and all other forms necessary to complete the
change of contractor process.

Should you need any further information, please contact

(Name)
at .
(Phone) (E-mail)
Sincerely,
Print Name (qualifier) Signature
On this day of 20 the person whose name is subscribed to

within this instrument, personally appeared before / personally known to me, the undersigned Notary Public of
the State of Florida, and he / she acknowledges that he / she executed it. Sworn and subscribe before me.

NOTARY PUBLICSTATE OF FLORIDA



Miramar | Building Division
Building, Planning & Zoning Department
2200 Civic Center Place | Miramar, FL 33025
Tel: 954.602.3200 | Fax: 954.602.3635 Removal Affidavit
BEAUTY AND PROGRESS www.miramarfl.gov

EST 1955

Construction Debris

ATTENTION APPLICANT. READ CAREFULLY

Section 18-7 of the Code of Ordinances of the City of Miramar (“City Code”) requires any debris from demolition
work, renovations, re-roofs, and new construction to be removed by the City’s trash vendor, Waste Pro of Florida
(“Waste Pro”). Failure to adhere to this requirement shall be deemed a violation of the City Code Section 18-7
and shall be subject to code compliance activities that may result in fines/penalties, as provided in the City Code.
For roll-off collection services, homeowners/builders and licensed contractors shall contact Waste Pro at the
information below.

Waste Pro: 17302 Pines Blvd, Pembroke Pines, FL 33029
Phone: (954) 967-4200

Fax: (954) 241-4489

Website: www.wasteprousa.com

WASTE PRO’

Caring For Our Communities *

Read and initial to the left of the applicable statement

I acknowledge that | have to contact Waste Pro for the removal of all construction and
demolition debris

Initials

Name:

Job Address:
City , State Zip Code

Signature:

STATE OF FLORIDA. Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of , 20

Notary Public



Miramar | Building Division Affidavit of Awareness

Building, Planning & Zoning Department of Homeowner’s
2200 Civic Center Place | Miramar, Florida 33025 Association Regulations
Tel: 954.602.3200 | Fax: 954.602.3635

gST 1955 www.miramarfl.gov

A

The following “Affidavit” is required as per City’s ordinance. This is a mandatory affidavit which is required
even if your property is not located in a Homeowner’s Association.

ATTENTION APPLICANT. READ CAREFULLY

. For homeowner/Builder applicants, this affidavit can be notarized by Permit Clerk at the Building
Division. Homeowner should appear in person with required picture I.D. (i.e. Driver License)
and proof of ownership (i.e. Recorded Warranty, County Tax Statement). The physical address on
I.D. shall match the address on the proof of ownership (i.e. Recorded Warranty Deed).

. For Licensed Contractor applicants, this affidavit can be notarized outside the Building Division by any
Notary Public.

Homeowner or Condominium Association Affidavit requirement. Miramar - City Code Sec. 22-29.(c)(1) As
part of the application process for a building permit in accordance with this chapter and with Section 713.20
of the Land Development Code, each applicant shall sign an affidavit (the "affidavit of awareness")
indicating that the applicant is aware that, if the subject property is located in a Homeowners'
Association or Condominium Association, as defined in this section, the applicant's property may be
subject to additional regulations despite the issuance of a building permit by the city.

This serves to notify such homeowner that the issuance of a Building, Landscaping, or other permits by the
City of Miramar, Florida does not exempt he/she from any and all other regulations imposed by the
Homeowner’s Association (HOA) in which his/her property is located. Be aware that despite the issuance
of a building permit by the city, the applicant’s property may result in additional regulations or denial
to perform the work in your property located at HOA community.

Read and Initial to the left of the applicable statement

| acknowledge that | am the owner of property located in the following Homeowner’s Association:

Print Name of Homeowner’s Association

| acknowledge that my property is not located in a Homeowners’ Association.

Name:

Homeowner - Print Name

Job Address:

Miramar, Florida Zip Code:

Signature:

Homeowner - Signature

STATE OF FLORIDA. Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of , 20

Notary Public



'Miramar | Building Division

Building, Planning & Zoning Department Ow_nerleIder
2200 Civic Center Place | Miramar, Florida 33025 Disclosure
& Tel: 954.602.3200 | Fax: 954.602.3635 Statement
s www.miramarfl.gov
Owner Name:
Address: Miramar, FL, Zip Code:

LOT: BLOCK: SUBDIVISION:

I am submitting an application for a Building Permit as an Owner-Builder in accordance with the exemption set forth in
Florida Statute 489.103. Florida law requires construction to be done by a licensed contractor. It’s a requirement by law
you read and sign the following statements, and hence you can understand your responsibilities as an owner-builder. By

signing the following statements, you attest that:
DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
(Read and Initial to the left of each statement)

— 1. | understand that state law requires construction to be done by a licensed contractor and have applied for an
owner-builder permit under an exemption from the law. The exemption specifies that I, as the owner of the
property listed, may act as my own contractor with certain restrictions even though | do not have a license.

— 2. | understand that building permits are not required to be signed by a property owner unless he or she is
responsible for the construction and is not hiring a licensed contractor to assume responsibility.

— 3. lunderstand that, as an owner-builder, | am the responsible party of record on a permit. | understand that | may
protect myself from potential financial risk by hiring a licensed contractor and having the permit filed in his or her
name instead of my own name. | also understand that a contractor is required by law to be licensed in Florida and to
list his or her license numbers on permits and contracts.

— 4. lunderstand that | may build or improve a one-family or two-family residence or a farm outbuilding. | may also
build or improve a commercial building if the costs do not exceed $75,000. The building or residence must be for my
own use or occupancy. It may not be built or substantially improved for sale or lease. If a building or residence that |
have built or substantially improved myself is sold or leased within 1 year after the construction is complete, the law
will presume that | built or substantially improved it for sale or lease, which violates the exemption.

— 5. lunderstand that, as the owner-builder, | must provide direct, onsite supervision of the construction.

— 6. lunderstand that | may not hire an unlicensed person to act as my contractor or to supervise persons working
on my building or residence. It is my responsibility to ensure that the persons whom | employ have the licenses
required by law and by county or municipal ordinance.

— 7. lunderstand that it is a frequent practice of unlicensed persons to have the property owner obtain an owner-
builder permit that erroneously implies that the property owner is providing his or her own labor and materials. |, as
an owner-builder, may be held liable and subjected to serious financial risk for any injuries sustained by an
unlicensed person or his or her employees while working on my property. My homeowner’s insurance may not
provide coverage for those injuries. | am willfully acting as an owner-builder and am aware of the limits of my
insurance coverage for injuries to workers on my property.

— 8. lunderstand that | may not delegate the responsibility for supervising work to a licensed contractor who is not
licensed to perform the work being done. Any person working on my building who is not licensed must work under
my direct supervision and must be employed by me, which means that | must comply with laws requiring the
withholding of federal income tax and social security contributions under the Federal Insurance Contributions Act
(FICA) and must provide workers’ compensation for the employee. | understand that my failure to follow these laws
may subject me to serious financial risk.

— 9. |l agree that, as the party legally and financially responsible for this proposed construction activity, | will abide by
all applicable laws and requirements that govern owner-builders as well as employers. | also understand that the
construction must comply with all applicable laws, ordinances, building codes, and zoning regulations.



'Miramar | Building Division

Building, Planning & Zoning Department prerIBquer
2200 Civic Center Place | Miramar, Florida 33025 Disclosure
I Tel: 954.602.3200 | Fax: 954.602.3635 Statement
TS s M www.miramarfl.gov (Continuation)

— 10. | understand that | may obtain more information regarding my obligations as an employer from the Internal
Revenue Service, the United States Small Business Administration, the Florida Department of Financial Services, and
the Florida Department of Revenue. | also understand that | may contact the Florida Construction Industry Licensing
Board at (telephone number) or (Internet website address) for more information about licensed contractors.

— 11. | am aware of, and consent to, an owner-builder building permit applied for in my name and understand that |
am the party legally and financially responsible for the proposed construction activity at the address listed above.

— 12. | agree to notify (issuer of disclosure statements) immediately of any additions, deletions, or changes to any
of the information that | have provided on this disclosure.

Licensed contractors are regulated by laws designed to protect the public. If you contract with a person who does not
have a license, the Construction Industry Licensing Board and Department of Business and Professional Regulation may
be unable to assist you with any financial loss that you sustain as a result of a complaint. Your only remedy against an
unlicensed contractor may be in civil court. It is also important for you to understand that, if an unlicensed contractor or
employee of an individual or firm is injured while working on your property, you may be held liable for damages. If you
obtain an owner-builder permit and wish to hire a licensed contractor, you will be responsible for verifying whether the
contractor is properly licensed and the status of the contractor’s workers’ compensation coverage.

Before a building permit can be issued, this disclosure statement must be completed and signed by the property owner
and returned to the local permitting agency responsible for issuing the permit. A copy of the property owner’s driver
license, the notarized signature of the property owner, or other type of verification acceptable to the local permitting
agency is required when the permit is issued.

| have read the foregoing instructions and | am aware of my responsibilities.

Owner Signature Date Signed
STATE OF FLORIDA, COUNTY OF BROWARD. Sworn to and subscribed before me this day of , 20
Notary Public

F.S 489.103. 3(c). If any person violates the requirements of this subsection, the local permitting agency shall
withhold final approval, revoke the permit, or pursue any action or remedy for unlicensed activity against the
owner and any person performing work that requires licensure under the permit issued.
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Notice of Commencement Document Recording
can be conducted by contacting one of the below
eRecording Vendors:

1. CSC {formerly INGEQ) erecording(@cscglobal.com / 866-652-0111 /

erecording.com/contact-us
2. E-Docs Solutions / info@edocsrecording.com / 888-973-3627 /

edocsrecording.com/ContactUs.htm
3. eRecording Partners Network (ePN )/ sales@GOePN.com / 888-325-

3365 / goepn.com/contact/
4. Indecomm (formerly US Recordings) / marketing_info@indecomm.net /

877-272-5250 / dmg.indecomm.net/Connect/Contact
5. Simplifile / sales@simplifile.com / 800-460-5657 / simplifile.com/contact-

simplifile/

Or by Mail:

Records, Taxes and Treasury Division, Recording
115 S. Andrews Avenue, Room 114
Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301

For more information, please visit Broward.org/RecordsTaxesTreasury,
call 954-831-4000, or by email records@ broward.org



AFTER RECORDING — RETURN TO:

PERMIT NUMBER:
NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT

The undersigned hereby given notice that improvement will be made to certain real property, and in accordance with Chapter 713,
Florida Statues the following information is provided in the Notice of Commencement.

1. DESCRIPTION OF PROPERTY (Legal description & street address, if available) TAX FOLIO NO.:

SUBDIVISION BLOCK TRACT LOT BLDG UNIT

2. GENERAL DESCRIPTION OF IMPROVEMENT:

3. OWNER INFORMATION:  a. Name

b. Address c. Interest in property.

d. Name and address of fee simple titleholder (if other than Owner)
4. CONTRACTOR’S NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:

5. SURETY’S NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER AND BOND AMOUNT:

6. LENDER’S NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:

7. Persons within the State of Florida designated by Owner upon whom notices or other documents may be served as provided by
Section 713.13 (1) (a) 7., Florida Statutes:
NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:

8. In addition to himself or herself, Owner designates the following to receive a copy of the Lienor’s Notice as provided in Section
713.13 (1) (b), Florida Statutes:
NAME, ADDRESS AND PHONE NUMBER:

9. Expiration date of notice of commencement (the expiration date is 1 year from the date of recording unless a different date is
specified): ,20

WARNING TO OWNER: ANY PAYMENTS MADE BY THE OWNER AFTER THE EXPIRATION OF THE NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT
ARE CONSIDERED IMPROPER PAYMENTS UNDER CHAPTER 713, PART I, SECTION 713.13, FLORIDA STATUTES. AND CAN
RESULT IN YOUR PAYING TWICE FOR IMPROVEMENTS TO YOUR PROPERTY. A NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT MUST BE
RECORDED AND POSTED ON THE JOB SITE BEFORE THE FIRST INSPECTION. IF YOU INTEND TO OBTAIN FINANCING, CONSULT
WITH YOUR LENDER OR AN ATTORNEY BEFORE COMMENCING WORK OR RECORDING YOUR NOTICE OF COMMENCEMENT.

Signature of Owner or Print Name and Provide Signatory’s Title/Office
Owner’s Authorized Officer/Director/Partner/Manager

State of Florida
County of Broward

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this day of ,20
By ,as

(name of person) (type of authority,...e.g. officer, trustee, attorney in fact)
For

(name of party on behalf of whom instrument was executed)

Personally known or produced the following type of identification:

(Signature of Notary Public)
Under Penalties of perjury, I declare that I have read the foregoing and that the facts in it are true to the best of my knowledge and
belief (Section 92.525, Florida Statutes).
Signature(s) of Owner(s) or Owner(s)’ Authorized Officer/ Director / Partner/Manager who signed above:

By By

Rev .08-09-07 (S.Recording)





